Regional Recycling Center

Regional Recycling Center

720 East College Drive

Recycling Center

The Thomas County recycling program was initiated in 1995 by local governmental entities and concerned citizens. At the time, the vision was to create a local recycling program that would grow into a regional program for northwest Kansas. The recycling program in Thomas County has been functioning since 1997. Over the past seven years, with the help of grant funding obtained through the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Waste Management and contributions from area citizens and governments, the goal of a regional program has been realized. Today the facility serves the residents of Thomas County as well as the Northwest Kansas Regional Recycling Organization. Participating counties in the regional recycling organization include: Cheyenne, Rawlins, Decatur, Thomas, Sheridan, Logan, and Gove.

The recycling center is located at 720 E College Drive in Colby (next to the blue water tower). Citizens voluntarily participate in the recycling program. Collections bins are available on the east side of the building for 24-hour drop-off of materials. Recycling trailers are available in Brewster and Rexford for 24-hour drop-off of materials. The center is open Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday from 8:00 am to 3:00 pm, and on Wednesday from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm.

Materials accepted for recycling include: Corrugated Cardboard, Chipboard, Magazines, Newspapers, Office Paper and Junk Mail, Shredded Paper, #1 Plastic, #2 Natural and Colored Plastic, Tin Cans, Aluminum Beverage Cans, and Glass Bottles and Jars (Clear, Brown, and Green).

Citizens may contact Lynette Koon, coordinator for the Northwest Kansas Regional Recycling Organization at (785) 460-8157 for more information on recycling programs in Northwest Kansas.